Why I decided to blog

I decided to start a blog on mild autism at the urging of family and friends. I have a son on the spectrum. Although his autism is considered mild, it is still difficult to deal with. Life can be hard and confusing with his daily struggles. That being said, I am a stay at home mom and I have dedicated my life to him and making sure that he has access to anything and everything that can help him.

Unfortunately, there isn’t a manual or guide for autism. Every child is different on the spectrum and what works for us may not work for someone else. One of the biggest struggles for me was finding that help for him. Different therapies, discipline, diet changes, homeopathic remedies…. there are so many things that can help autistic children. I remember when my son was diagnosed at age 3 the psychologist sent me home with 1 piece of paper that referrred me to aba and speech therapy. I called every aba therapist in our area and was told by everyone that there was a 6 month wait list. I put my name on every list in cities up to an hour away. We also signed up for occupational therapy. We were in speech therapy at the time because my son became nonverbal at 18 months.

It was a very emotional time for me. I wanted to heal my child more than anything in the world. I didn’t want him to struggle. I spent hours every day researching anything and everything to do with autism. I was in denial for a long time because my sons autism was considered high functioning. He was very social, but struggled with communication. I kept thinking- he’s only three. He will grow out of this. This can’t be true. He’s so smart. How could this be autism?

Now at age 5 I’ve come to terms that my son has autism. Although it is mild, it’s still autism. He still struggles. There’s still a lot of work to do and a long road ahead of us. Autism is like that. It never ends. I can help my son conquer a “bad” or “abnormal” behavior, but there is always something else to work on. Something else that becomes a struggle for him that I want to fix. I know that not every person agrees with that statement. That I want to “fix” austitic behaviors, but it’s our choice as a family to make my sons world easy for him. I want him to succeed at everything his heart desires to do. I want it to be easy for him to fit in. I want the best for him and that is what this blog is about. My journey to find the best for him and in him.

Leave a Reply

